EP 148 – Coding and the design process – Aug 10 2015

Aug. 10, 2015, noon (7 years, 1 month ago)
0 Comments
This week on WPwatercooler we'll be answering a viewers email about where to begin and best practices.
Mark Nottingham writes:
As someone who is learning WordPress, HTML, CSS and trying to learn some PHP to develop my own websites, I am interested in what you folk at WPWatercooler use in the main to develop your own sites and themes. I am guessing that you need to know HTML and CSS inside out, but what about PHP considering that WordPress is based on it? What about JavaScript, Jquery? Also what is your work process? Do you start with a Photoshop mock up and transfer that to web? Or do you just go straight to a theme? I would love to hear what you think.
We'll see how much of this we can get though to get his questioned answered.
Show airs Aug 10 at 11am PDT / 2pm EDT / 7PM UTC
 
Software
Photoshop

Agile Design

Styletiles

Balsamiq

Invision

Coda2

Sublime

Dreamweaver

Aptana studio 3

PHP Storm

DesktopServer
Online Learning
Codecademy

w3schools

Learn PHP

Learn HTML

Learn CSS

Learn jQuery

Lynda

Treehouse

codepen.io

CSS Tricks
Books
Professional WordPress: Design and Development 3rd Edition

WordPress for Dummies

jQuery for Designers
Other Resources
Meetup.com

wordpress.org

wordpress.tv

codex.wordpress.org

Heisenberg Theme

Pragmatic Programmer in WordPress
 
[LISTATTENDEES event_identifier=”ep-148-coding-and-the-design-process-aug-10-2015-5-55c7b77c0f58a” show_gravatar=”true”]


See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Login to Add New Comment
No comments have been posted yet, be the first one to comment.